atomicgallery

In Search of Order

In Uncategorized on January 12, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Sergiy Barchuk:

In Search of Order

I approach the settings and environments in my life as puzzle pieces that I attempt to resolve in balanced compositions which reveal visual order. This took root during a project in which I explored the suburban landscape and the effects that it has on community development. While photographing the architecture of the North Shore I found myself creating abstract compositions rather than strictly documenting the environment. The relationships between the objects within my frames provoked me to explore connections between all the shapes, colors, and shadows that we encounter in our daily lives.

 

Sergiy Barchuk spent most of his life moving between Russia and Ukraine. At the age of 15, his family moved to the North Shore and has lived here for the last seven years. Barchuk majored in Social Work with a minor in Fine Art at Gordon College in Wenham, MA.

www.sergiybarchuk.com

 

Leave a Reply

