atomicgallery

I <3 Bagel

In Uncategorized on January 12, 2012 at 9:42 pm

I ❤ Bagel is a Collaboration Between Jeffrey Newell and Atomic Café Artists

Some customers get artwork in the form of latte foam.

For me, it’s Bagels.  They’re a part of my morning routine.  I park the car, take the 2-minute walk to Atomic Café, pay $3.96 for a bagel with cream cheese and small diesel roast coffee, and head off to work.  I’ve been doing this for over 7 years.  A new element was woven into my Atomic Café experience about 2 years ago when a small message was written on my bagel wrapper in black sharpie pen.  Then another message the next day.  And then it grew to a silly little drawing.  One time color was added.  And then another color.  A new artist took the pen.  Another drawing was created with a different message, over and over again.  It was the start of a new style of communication between customer and barista.

This body of work documents the collaboration of drawings, written messages and scribbles created by Atomic employees documented on my iPhone.  The images drawn can be seen as weather forecasts, happenstances, inside jokes, or even just purely decorative records capturing my morning Atomic Café ritual.

Wait until you see what they do to my Cucumber Cooler.

Leave a Reply

